State agency honors Aberman for 20 years of service

December 22, 2021 07:33 AM

At Tuesday's monthly board meeting, Skokie Park District vice-president Mike Reid presented an Illinois Association of Park Districts (IAPD) plaque to board president Susan Aberman, honoring her for her 20 years of service on the board, many as its president.

The plaque reads, "Presented to Susan Aberman in recognition of her outstanding contributions, community leadership and service to advance parks, recreation and conservation in the state of Illinois as a board member of the Skokie Park District."

Aberman was elected to the board of commissioners in 2001 and has helped oversee many of the major projects and programming changes made by the park district, including the creation of Skokie’s Backlot Bash, and the renovation of The Exploritorium, the Skatium Ice Arena, and the Weber Leisure Center and its Fitness First health club. During her tenure so far, the Skokie Park District also has been recognized as an Illinois Distinguished Accredited Agency four times and in 2021 won the Illinois Park & Recreation Association's 'Champions for Change' award for fostering diversity and inclusion within the Skokie community and within the Skokie Park District.

Aberman is the third longest serving board member in the district's history.

Longest tenured board members since 1928
Henry Weber – 36 years (1935-71)
Carl Frey – 22 years (1941-63)
Susan Aberman – 20 years (2001-present)
Norman Schack – 20 years (1963-83)

About the Skokie Park District Board of Commissioners

Back to news