Reid, Yanes named board officers for 2015-16

June 26, 2015 07:24 AM

The Skokie Park District board of commissioners announced its new officers at the May 2015 regular and annual meeting.

The board again named Mike Reid (bottom left) the president of the board, with Maureen Yanes (top center) named vice-president. Both have served on the board since 2005.

The five-member board is elected by the residents of Skokie and is responsible for setting policies and procedures that benefit the park district and the community. The board adopts a budget, levies property taxes and is responsible for hiring and evaluating the executive director. All commissioners are elected at large and serve without compensation. Commissioners also pictured include Jerry Clarito (bottom right), Michael Alter (top left), and Susan Aberman (top right).

The Skokie Park District is a separate government agency from the Village of Skokie and all other county and state taxing entities, created for the purpose of acquiring and maintaining parks, as well as developing and organizing recreational programs and events for its residents.

Regular board meetings are held on the third Tuesday of every month at 7 p.m., in the Weber Leisure Center board room at 9300 Weber Park Pl., in Skokie.

For more information about the board of park commissioners or Skokie Park District business, call (847) 929-7100.

Back to news