Park district board elects officers for 2020-21

May 20, 2020 09:37 AM

At last night’s online annual meeting of the Skokie Park District Board of Commissioners, the board unanimously elected Mike Reid as its president and Khemarey Khoeun as its vice president.

Reid, who has served on the board since 2005, will now serve as its president for a ninth year. Khoeun joined the board in 2016 and will serve a second consecutive term as board vice-president. The board also includes commissioners Susan Aberman (since 2001), Michael Alter (since 2003) and Minal Desai (since 2019).

The board of park commissioners is elected by the residents of Skokie and is responsible for setting policies and procedures that benefit the park district and the community. The board adopts a budget, levies property taxes and is responsible for hiring and evaluating the executive director. All commissioners are elected at large and serve without compensation. 

The Skokie Park District is a distinct government agency, separate from the Village of Skokie and all other county and state taxing entities, created for the purpose of acquiring and maintaining parks, as well as developing and organizing recreational programs and events for its residents. 

Regular board meetings are held on the third Tuesday of every month at 7 p.m., in the Weber Leisure Center board room at 9300 Weber Park Place, in Skokie.

Back to news