Park Commissioners earn state master board member status

February 2, 2019 01:41 AM
Park commissioners Susan Aberman and Khemarey Khoeun

(2.1.19) Skokie Park District Commissioners Susan Aberman and Khemarey Khoeun were recently recognized for their new status as 'master board members' by the Illinois Association of Park Districts (IAPD).

Illinois park district commissioners who participate in the IAPD Board Development Program accumulate board development units (BDUs) through committee involvement, attendance at continuing educational opportunities and achievements at the local, state and national levels. 'notable board members' have achieved 100 BDUs, 'distinctive board members' 400 BDUs, and 'master board members' 750 units.

Aberman has served on the Skokie Park District board of commissioners since 2001, including several years as board president. Khoeun has been on the board since 2017. The two join fellow Skokie Park District commissioners Mike Reid and Maureen Yanes as state master board members.

The five-member board of park commissioners is elected by the residents of Skokie and is responsible for setting policies and procedures that benefit the park district and community. The board appoints the executive director, who carries out the policies of the board and hires a staff.​ Board members also adopt a budget, levy property taxes and serve as liaisons to various community organizations and committees.

The IAPD is a nonprofit service, research and education organization that serves park districts, forest preserves, conservation, municipal park and recreation, and special recreation agencies.

Back to news