Park Commissioners earn Illinois "master board member" status

February 5, 2017 08:04 AM

Skokie Park District Commissioners Mike Reid and Maureen “Moe” Yanes were recently recognized for their new status as “master board members” by the Illinois Association of Park Districts (IAPD).

Illinois park district commissioners who participate in the IAPD Board Development Program accumulate "board development units" (BDUs) through committee involvement, attendance at continuing educational opportunities and achievements at the local, state and national levels. “Notable board members” have achieved 100 BDUs, distinctive board members 400 BDUs, and master board members 750 units.

Reid has served on the Skokie Park District board of commissioners since 2005, including several years as board president. Yanes has also been on the board since 2005 and has served as vice president.

The five-member board of park commissioners is elected by the residents of Skokie and is responsible for setting policies and procedures that benefit the park district and community. The board appoints the executive director, who carries out the policies of the board and hires a staff.​ Board members also adopt a budget, levy property taxes and serve as liaisons to various community organizations and committees.

The IAPD is a nonprofit service, research and education organization that serves park districts, forest preserves, conservation, municipal park and recreation, and special recreation agencies.

Back to news