Clarito, Alter named new board officers

June 8, 2016 05:35 AM

The Skokie Park District board of commissioners announced its new officers last night at the May 2016 regular and annual meeting.

The board named Jerry Clarito (second from right) the president of the board, with Michael Alter (second from left) named vice-president. Clarito has served on the board since 2005; Alter since 2003.

The five-member board is elected by the residents of Skokie and is responsible for setting policies and procedures that benefit the park district and the community. The board adopts a budget, levies property taxes and is responsible for hiring and evaluating the executive director. All commissioners are elected at large and serve without compensation. Commissioners also pictured include Susan Aberman (left), Mike Reid (right), and Maureen Yanes (center).

The Skokie Park District is a separate government agency from the Village of Skokie and all other county and state taxing entities, created for the purpose of acquiring and maintaining parks, as well as developing and organizing recreational programs and events for its residents.

Regular board meetings are held on the third Tuesday of every month at 7 p.m., in the Weber Leisure Center board room at 9300 Weber Park Pl., in Skokie.

For more information about the board of park commissioners or Skokie Park District business, call (847) 929-7100.

Back to news